ABOUT THE NAACP AWARDS

The NEED for SUPPORT and WHERE YOUR CONTRIBUTION GOES

Once a year, the St. Louis City NAACP hosts an Anniversary Celebration and Freedom Fund Awards Dinner to recognize exemplary service, distinguished leadership, and commitment to improve the cultural, social, and economic growth and development of the St. Louis community.

We invite you to make a commitment to support the NAACP. Financial support from corporations, foundations, individuals, organizations and the business community is needed to continue and strengthen the NAACP's programs and initiatives aimed at civic engagement, youth empowerment and eliminating disparities in economic development, healthcare, education, public safety, technology, criminal justice and human rights issues in the St. Louis region.

Since the founding of the St. Louis City NAACP in 1912, it has been the talent and tenacity of local NAACP members that have saved lives and changed many negative aspects of St. Louis society.

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) is the nation's oldest civil rights organization. Founded by a coalition of black political activists and white progressives in 1909, the NAACP is responsible for a number of victories from the ballot box to the boardroom, in the struggle for justice and equality in America. The NAACP has more than 2200 Branches in 50 states and over 500,000 members worldwide. Join us on February 17, 2024 for the annual St. Louis City NAACP Freedom Fund Awards Dinner. Take time to celebrate the remarkable NAACP icons (pictured on the front cover) who broke barriers and paved the way for others. The awards are named in their honor. Left to right:

• Ina M. Boon was the first NAACP Region IV Director. She served as President of the St. Louis City NAACP, President of the St. Louis County NAACP, NAACP Field Secretary for Missouri and national NAACP Life Membership Director.

• **Medgar Wiley. Evers** was assassinated in the driveway of his home in Jackson, Mississippi on June 12, 1953 just hours after President John F. Kennedy delivered his first civil rights address. At the time, Medgar Evers was the NAACP's first Field Secretary in Mississippi. He gave his life in the fight for voter empowerment, equality and justice.

• Attorney Frankie Muse Freeman served as the first woman to be appointed by President Lyndon Johnson to the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights. She received the NAACP Spingarn Award and was named St. Louis Citizen of the Year in 2012. In 1954, Frankie Freeman served as lead attorney for the landmark NAACP case Davis et al. v the St. Louis Housing Authority which ended segregation in public housing in St. Louis.

• Norman R. Seay was one of the organizers of the historic Jefferson Bank protest in 1963. He was a former national president of Blacks in Government and a co-founder of the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE). Seay became an equal opportunity specialist with the US Department of Health, Education and Welfare.

• Attorney Margaret Bush Wilson was the first African-American woman to be elected Chair of the National NAACP Board of Directors in 1975. She served as National Board Chair for nine years. Wilson served as counsel in the landmark St. Louis case of *Shelly v. Kraemer.* The case was won in the U.S. Supreme Court which ruled that restrictive housing covenants were unenforceable in the courts. She was Trustee Emerita of Washington University and Webster University.



ST. LOUIS CITY NAACP 112th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION and ANNUAL FREEDOM FUND AWARDS DINNER

NAACP

"CELEBRATING ST. LOUIS TRAILBLAZERS AND HISTORY MAKERS"

SATURDAY, FEBRUARY 17, 2024

ADOLPHUS M. PRUITT, II President St. Louis City NAACP

Members of the St. Louis City NAACP Executive Committee

and

Dinner Host Committee Members

invite you to attend the

112th Anniversary Celebration and

Annual Freedom Fund Awards Dinner

Saturday, February 17, 2024

Marriott St. Louis Grand Hotel

800 Washington Avenue

Downtown St. Louis

Reception - 6:00 p.m. Dinner /Program - 6:45 p.m.

Business Attire

Valet Parking (Washington Avenue Ballroom Entrance) - \$15 Complimentary Self-Parking (Marriott Garage)

Response Card Enclosed

MARGARET BUSH WILSON LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

• HON. RONNIE WHITE and HON. GEORGE DRAPER are the first two African-Americans appointed to serve on the Missouri Supreme Court. White was appointed in 1995 by Governor Mel Carnahan and Draper was appointed in 2011 by Governor Jeremiah Nixon.

NAACP LEGACY AWARD

• MAXINE CLARK and BOB FOX are *President and Chairman*, respectively, of the Clark-Fox Family Foundation. They spearheaded the St. Louis City NAACP's fundraising campaign to recognize the lifetime achievements of civil rights attorney Frankie Muse Freeman by erecting a life-size sculpture of Freeman to be permanently installed in Kiener Plaza. The statue was unveiled in Kiener Plaza on November 21, 2017 and donated to the City of St. Louis.

• **CLIFFORD FRANKLIN** is *President and CEO*, Final Phase Marketing and Fuse Advertising, the 4th largest independently owned African-American advertising agency in the United States.

• THE UNITED WAY OF GREATER ST. LOUIS, led by Michelle Tucker, President & CEO, remains one of the top United Ways in the nation. The programs and initiatives of the United Way of Greater St. Louis are helping to make a more equitable and inclusive St. Louis. In 2023, over \$75 million was raised and contributed in support across 16 counties with \$67 million from the annual campaign to help over one million people and over 160 nonprofits.

INA M. BOON SOCIAL JUSTICE AWARD

• **MICHAEL McMILLAN** is *President and CEO* of the Urban League of Metropolitan St. Louis, the number one Urban League affiliate in the nation.

• MATIFADZA (MATI) HLATSHWAYO-DAVIS, MD, MPH, FIDSA is *Director of Health* for the City of St. Louis.

FRANKIE MUSE FREEMAN / NORMAN R. SEAY COMMITMENT TO ST. LOUIS AWARD

• **ORVIN KIMBROUGH** is *Chairman and CEO* of Midwest BankCentre. Prior to joining Midwest BankCentre, he spent 20 years in leadership roles in prominent non-profit agencies. He is the former *President and CEO* of the United Way of Greater St. Louis. During his tenure as *CEO*, the United Way of St. Louis grew to become the largest United Way affiliate, raising nearly \$80 million annually.

• EMILY PITTS served a 25-year career at Edward Jones and became the first African-American woman to serve as General Partner.

• MAVIS THOMPSON made history in St. Louis as the first African-American woman to hold two city-wide elected positions: Circuit Clerk and presently serving as License Collector. She is a former president of the National Bar Association and former president of the local Mound City Bar Association.

MEDGAR WILEY EVERS MEDAL OF FREEDOM AWARD

• THOMAS SULLIVAN, President and CEO, Mathews-Dickey Boys and Girls Club.

YOUTH LEADERSHIP AWARD

• **DEJUAN STRICKLAND** initiated and paid off the negative lunch debt of every student at his former elementary school, McCurdy Elementary School in the Hazelwood School District. Now a student at St. Louis University High School, he continues to raise money to eliminate negative lunch debt for different elementary schools in the area.

• **TEREA GOODWIN** is Swim Head Coach of the MAKOS Swim Team at O'Fallon Park Rec Complex. The MAKOS, an all-Black swim team for 8-18 year olds, recently joined USA Swimming. The Team is enjoying the thrill of victory in competitive swim meets throughout the metro area.